Skip to main content Skip to section menu

Mathematics Department News - 2006

Link to the list of visitors. 01/09/06
We wish Gareth Roberts well in his secondment to the Community University of North Wales to work in the Reaching Higher - Reaching Wider project.

On the 1 August 2006 the School of Informatics ceased to exist, and a School of Electronic Engineering and a School of Computer Science came into existence within the new College of Physical & Applied Science.

The following acting Heads of College/School have been appointed:

  • College of Physical & Applied Science: Prof Alan Shore,
  • School of Computer Science : Prof Nigel John,
  • School of Electronic Engineering : Dr Paul Spencer.
Nevertheless, for the time being, the Dean Street site will continue to be run as a single unit, the Schools of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science (SEECS), with the Department of Mathematics as an additional component.

Some graduation photos.

Congratulations to all our students graduating on Thursday July 20th, and in particular to those awarded the following prizes:

  • Joint recipients of the J H Gee Prize for Mathematics:
    • Ceri Owens
    • Catrin Plumpton
  • Joint recipients of the R A Jones Prize for Mathematics:
    • Simon Roberts
    • Pat Saunderson
    • Alan Tabberer
  • Ceri Owens has also been awarded the Paul Green memorial award, for the most meritorious individual project by an undergraduate in the School of Informatics.

Congratulations to all our final-year students on the excellent BSc and MMath degree results announced this afternoon.

Topology & Groupoids:
a retitled, revised, refined and expanded edition of Ronald Brown's Topology, previously published in 1968 and 1988, just released.

Congratulations to Gareth Evans on the award of a PhD for his thesis: "Noncommutative Involutive Bases"

Royal Institution Mathematics Masterclasses for young people in North-West Wales,
sponsored by Anglesey Aluminium: the 22nd series commences January 21st.

Links to Mathematics news during: 2005, 2004, 2003 and earlier.

Site footer